Mayor and City Council

The Santa Ana City Council is composed of seven members, which consist of the Mayor and six Councilmembers. Councilmembers are nominated from one of six geographic wards in the City and then elected citywide. The City Councilmembers serve a four-year term and are limited to three consecutive terms. The Mayor is directly elected at-large and has term limits of no more than four two-year terms. The Mayor Pro Tem is nominated and elected from amongst the seated council.

City Council meetings are open to the public and are held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month. Closed Session Meetings are held at 5:00 p.m., immediately followed by the Regular Business Meeting at approximately 5:45 p.m.

The meetings are held in the City Council Chambers - 22 Civic Center Plaza Santa Ana, CA 92701 or as noted on the agenda.


City Council News Items