Mayor and City Council

City Hall Closure

On Tuesday, March 17, 2020, the Santa Ana City Council unanimously proclaimed a local emergency to fight the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus) and protect public health. Effective immediately, all City of Santa Ana municipal government buildings will be temporarily closed to the public, including City Hall. This closure period may change based on future guidance provided by Federal, State and County agencies.

Click here for more information.

Mayor and City Council


From left to right: David Penaloza, Phil Bacerra, Vicente Sarmiento, Miguel Pulido, Juan Villegas, Cecilia Iglesias, Jose Solorio

The Santa Ana City Council is comprised of seven members consisting of the Mayor and six Councilmembers. Councilmembers are nominated from one of six geographic wards in the City and then elected citywide. The City Councilmembers serve a four-year term and are limited to three consecutive terms. The Mayor is directly elected at-large and has term limits of no more than four (4) two-year terms. Mayor Pro Tem is nominated and elected from amongst the seated council.

City Council meetings are open to the public and are held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month. Closed Session Meetings are held at 5:00 pm, immediately followed by the Regular Business Meeting at approximately 5:45 pm.

The meetings are held in the City Council Chambers - 22 Civic Center Plaza Santa Ana, CA 92701 or as noted on the agenda.