City Elections

The City of Santa Ana consolidates with the County of Orange Registrar of Voters Office for all municipal elections. The Clerk of the Council serves as the elections official and the Clerk's Office is responsible for all candidates' filings, the issuance and acceptance of nomination papers, City measures and publication of all legal notices as well as campaign and conflict of interest filings required by the Fair Political Practices Commission.

The general municipal elections for the City are held on the first Tuesday in November of even-numbered years for the purpose of electing City Council members or placing special measures and/or bond issues before the voters. Special elections may be called for the purpose of Charter Amendments, Referendum, Initiative and/or Recall.

The City Council is made up of a Mayor and six Councilmembers, for a total of seven members. City Council members are elected at-large to serve four-year overlapping terms. The offices of Mayor and City Council are non-partisan.

The Mayor serves a term of two years, with a maximum of four consecutive terms. Councilmembers each serve a four-year term, with a maximum of three consecutive four-year terms. At the next City election, to be held on November 6, 2018, Wards 2, 4, 6, and the Mayor's seat will be up for election.

To be eligible to be elected to the office of councilmember, a person must be a qualified voter and a thirty (30) day resident of the ward from which the candidate is nominated at the time nomination papers are issued as provided for in the Elections Code of the State of California, except that the mayor need only be a registered voter and thirty (30) day resident of the City at such time.

For specific questions regarding the election process, please contact the Clerk of the Council at (714) 647-6520.


Voter Registration:


Resources and Links: